top of page

Wild pear (pyrus pyraster)

 

Appearance:

The wild pear is a small tree and reaches a maximum height of 15 to 20 meters. If there is a lack of light, however, it often grows like a bush and reaches heights of 3-5 meters. Their bark is gray and scaly. The long-stalked leaves are round heart-shaped and finely serrated on the edge. The white flowers appear in April to May before the leaves shoot. Its brownish yellow fruits are 6-8 cm long and hang on weakly thorny branches.

 

Occurrence:

The wild pear grows on nutrient-rich, moderately fresh to dry, alkaline-rich loamy soils. It loves lime and does not tolerate waterlogging. Since it needs a lot of light, the wild pear has become rare today. Under normal forest conditions, the wild pear is often pushed to the dry line of the forest by more competitive trees, where the other trees can no longer grow optimally.Thanks to their drought tolerance and the great need for light, the wild pear is very well suited for the fringes of climate-stable mixed forests.

 

Ecological importance:

The early flowering of the wild pear in April makes it an important supplier of nectar for many insects. Their fruits are in great demand and serve as food for various animals such as the badger or the hedgehog.

 

Economic importance:

The economic importance of the wild pear is relatively minor, as the trunk diameter and length are often too small for sawn timber production. When trunks reach larger dimensions, the wood is very popular with carpenters for decorative furniture. Otherwise, their wood is mainly used as firewood.

Wild pear

SKU: 006
12,50 €Price
  • With your selection you commission us to acquire trees for the current project in a tree nursery and to plant them at the property owner.

    You do not acquire ownership of the plant and the project.

    As soon as the project has been implemented, you will receive a personal notification by email.

bottom of page

Wildbirne (Pyrus pyraster)

 

Aussehen:

Die Wildbirne ist ein Kleinbaum und erreicht eine Höhe von maximal 15 bis 20 Metern. Bei Lichtmangel wächst sie aber häufig strauchartig und erreicht hierbei Wuchshöhen von 3-5 Metern. Ihre Rinde ist grau und kleinschuppig. Die lang gestielten Blätter sind rundlich herzförmig und am Rand fein gezähnt. Die weißen Blüten erscheinen im April bis Mai vor dem Laubaustrieb. Ihre bräunlich gelben Früchte werden 6-8 cm lang und hängen an schwach bedornten Ästen.

 

Vorkommen:

Die Wildbirne wächst auf nährstoffreichen, mäßig frischen bis trockenen, basenreichen lehmigen Böden. Sie ist kalkliebend und verträgt keine Staunässe. Da sie viel Licht benötigt, ist die Wildbirne heute selten geworden. Unter normalen Waldverhältnissen wird die Wildbirne von konkurrenzstärkeren Bäumen häufig an die Trockengrenze des Waldes verdrängt, wo die anderen Bäume nicht mehr optimal wachsen können Durch ihre Trockentoleranz und den großen Lichtbedarf ist die Wildbirne sehr gut für die Waldsäume klimastabiler Mischwälder geeignet. 

 

Ökologische Bedeutung:

Durch die frühe Blüte der Wildbirne im April ist sie ein wichtiger Nektarlieferant für viele Insekten. Ihre Früchte sind sehr begehrt und dienen verschiedenen Tieren wie zum Beispiel dem Dachs oder dem Igel als Nahrung.

 

Ökonomische Bedeutung:

Die ökonomische Bedeutung der Wildbirne ist relativ gering, da die Stammdurchmesser und -längen für die Schnittholzproduktion häufig zu klein sind. Wenn Stämme stärkere Dimensionen erreichen, ist das Holz bei Schreinern für dekorative Möbel sehr begehrt. Ihr Holz wird ansonsten überwiegend als Brennholz genutzt.

Wildbirne

Artikelnummer: 006
12,50 €