top of page

Littleleaf linden (Tilia cordata)

 

Appearance:

The littleleaf linden is a medium-sized to large deciduous tree with an irregular and domed crown. Its bark is dark brown and cracked and its young twigs are reddish. It grows up to 40 meters high and has a trunk diameter of up to three meters. Littleleaf linden can live up to 1000 years.

 

Occurrence:

The littleleaf linden grows in warm summer deciduous mixed forests of the low, hilly and lower mountain regions. It needs fresh to moderately dry, base-rich and mostly deep soils. Due to its preference for warm summer locations and its drought tolerance, the littleleaf linden is very well suited for climate-stable mixed forests.

 

Ecological importance:

The littleleaf linden tree has a high ecological value for the forest floor. Their fine roots strengthen the forest floor very well. This is particularly important on slopes. In addition, the linden leaves, which decompose very quickly, contain a lot of protein and lime, which benefits the forest floor. Linden blossom nectar is also a popular source of nutrition for many insects.

 

Economic importance:

The littleleaf linden tree provides valuable wood from which toys, kitchenware and carvings have been made for centuries. The permanent use of this renewable raw material binds CO2 (CO2 sink). The wood is also used as firewood.

Littleleaf linden

SKU: 002
4,70 €Price
  • With your selection you commission us to acquire trees for the current project in a tree nursery and to plant them at the property owner.

    You do not acquire ownership of the plant and the project.

    As soon as the project has been implemented, you will receive a personal notification by email.

bottom of page

Winterlinde (Tilia cordata)

 

Aussehen:

Die Winterlinde ist ein mittelgroßer bis großer Laubbaum mit unregelmäßiger und gewölbter Krone. Ihre Rinde ist dunkelbraun und rissig und ihre jungen Zweige sind rötlich. Sie wächst bis zu 40 Meter hoch und hat einen Stammdurchmesser von bis zu drei Metern. Linden werden bis zu 1000 Jahre alt.

 

Vorkommen:

Die Winterlinde wächst in sommerwarmen Laubmischwäldern des Tief,- Hügel- und unteren Berglandes. Sie benötigt frische bis mäßig trockene, basenreiche und meist tiefgründige Böden. Durch ihre Vorliebe für sommerwarme Standorte und ihre Trockentoleranz ist die Winterlinde sehr gut für klimastabile Mischwälder geeignet.

 

Ökologische Bedeutung:

Die Linde hat einen hohen ökologischen Wert für den Waldboden. Ihr feines Wurzelwerk festigt den Waldboden sehr gut. Dies ist besonders an Hanglagen wichtig. Außerdem beinhaltet das sich sehr schnell zersetzende Laub der Linden viel Eiweiß und Kalk, dies kommt dem Waldboden zugute. Der Nektar der Lindenblüten sind außerdem bei vielen Insekten als Nahrungsquelle beliebt.

 

Ökonomische Bedeutung:

Die Winterlinde liefert wertvolles Holz, aus dem seit Jahrhunderten Spielwaren, Küchenwaren und Schnitzereien gefertigt werden. Durch die dauerhafte Nutzung dieses nachwachsenden Rohstoffes wird CO2 gebunden (CO2 Senke). Außerdem wird das Holz auch als Brennholz genutzt.

Winterlinde

Artikelnummer: 002
4,70 €Preis